MNE Fellow Award

To promote micro- and nano-engineering in Europe, the MNE Steering Committee recognizes a researcher or engineer every year who has made outstanding contributions to fields addressed by the MNE conference. The aim is to honor a researcher or engineer who has strong research roots in Europe by having worked in Europe for an important part of his/her career.
The successful candidate must have inspired the MNE community by his/her leadership or outstanding work. This could, for example, be through leadership in the successful development and commercialization of a technology, the pioneering of a method or development of a tool with significant impact on current research or manufacturing methods, or an outstanding invention.


In previous years the MNE Fellow Award was bestowed to:


Dr. Haroon Ahmed from University of Cambridge (founder of Microengineering conference, which became the Micro & Nanoengineering conference) at MNE 2003, Cambridge
Dr. Peter Vettiger from IBM Research – Zurich at MNE 2005, Vienna
Dr. Mike Hatzakis from NCSR Demokritos Athens at MNE 2006, Barcelona
Dr. Bruno Murari from ST Microelectronics at MNE 2010, Genoa
Dr. Luc Van den Hove from IMEC at MNE 2011, Berlin
Dr. Hans Löschner from IMS Nanofabrication AG in Austria at MNE 2012, Toulouse
Prof. Dr. Dieter Kern from the University of Tübingen at MNE 2014, Lausanne
Dr. Emile van der Drift from Technical University of Delft at MNE 2015, The Hague
Prof. Dr. Nico de Rooij, professor emeritus at the EPFL Lausanne and Vice-President at CSEM SA
Prof. Andreas Manz from Saarland University of Saarbrücken at MNE 2017, Braga
Dr. John Randall from Zyvex Labs, USA at MNE 2018, Copenhagen

• Prof. Dr. Hella-Christin Scheer, from University of Wuppertal at MNE 2019 Rhodos, Greece

(No MNE and no award in 2020 due to the Covid pandemic.)

Prof. Dr. Anja Boisen from Technical University of Denmark at MNE 2021 Torino, Italy

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Brugger from EPF Lausanne at MNE 2022 Leuven, Belgium